noobdeli.blogg.se

2010 toyota prius navigation dvd
2010 toyota prius navigation dvd









2010 toyota prius navigation dvd
  1. #2010 toyota prius navigation dvd install
  2. #2010 toyota prius navigation dvd update
  3. #2010 toyota prius navigation dvd software
  4. #2010 toyota prius navigation dvd free

Of course any other improvements the new software contains won’t be there, but that was a tradeoff I was willing to make. By reauthoring a new DVD with most of the stuff from the new factory DVD, but I think one file (LOADING.KWI) from the old DVD, you keep the old software but get the new maps. So – do I want the new maps I’d just paid dearly for or do I want the override capability?īless the Prius hacking community’s heart, you can have both. Since Toyota knew the override backdoor was known to the Prius hacking community, they took it out of later DVD versions – including the v 6.1 I’d just bought.

2010 toyota prius navigation dvd

The DVD contains not only maps, but (some of?) the software that runs the nav system. It only works until you start the car again, but the only down side is that the navigator grumbles a little before entering the destination. By alternately pressing two invisible buttons (top, bottom, top, bottom), you get an undocumented screen on which a long touch will override the GPS motion-lockout. While that mostly worked, I came across a more elegant and effective trick. I did that, resulting in a little switch in a film can living in the upper glove box. I seem to recall something about a purple wire and rebuilding a connector in that hack.

#2010 toyota prius navigation dvd install

One was to install a switch to open the path from I think the wheel sensors that let the GPS know the car is moving. Boo again.Ī little googling found two solutions. The car clearly knows when somebody’s in that seat (it has a separate seat belt warning), but that’s not enough to unlock the GPS. While such activities could certainly be distracting to the driver, there is zero safety issue with the navigator sitting in the passenger’s seat entering destinations, etc. The very annoying “safety feature” that you can’t do things like enter a destination address in the GPS while the car is moving became obvious very shortly after I got the car.

#2010 toyota prius navigation dvd update

Unfortunately, the only way to update the maps is to buy a $250 DVD from Toyota. That worked fine, but after a few years I wanted newer maps. The nav system in my 2004 Prius came with a map ver 3.3 DVD (in the reader under the driver’s seat). Since I couldn’t find any notes about the history of the DVD hack, I thought I’d put down what I remembered before I forgot any more. I replaced the DVD with another I found in my collection and it seems to work again. Winter Gray, Prius IV with sunroof package.The GPS in the Prius pretty much stopped working recently with an error message about not being able to read the DVD.

#2010 toyota prius navigation dvd free

They have all been very maintenance and trouble free for me. Have owned 5 other toyotas, among other cars, over the past 40 years and have always loved them. I really like the car otherwise, at least for the short time I've had it. I love new technology so was really looking forward to it. In my humble opinion, the native 2010 for the Prius just doesn't work as well as the other GPS's I've owned. I worked on the Nav system and read the booklet for a few hours today and will spend much more time (I read that Navteq may offer a disc for it - I'd jump on it - the navteq online store wasn't loading today). BTW, there is a shortcut through Moscow which my other GPS's pickup but not the 2010 Prius. I checked the three route choices and chose the best one. The IV doesn't have the least fuel option. The extra lanes have been built over the last few years. No old Lewiston grade for 30 years - since renovation, still there but only used for sightseers, great for motorcycles, and the occasional scenic drive. Sorry to ramble but I haven't quite settled down yet.Ĭlick to expand.Yeah, 95 has changed a couple times. I'm so darn disappointed, a $1800 upgrade, and I am going to have to mount a Garmin on my dash. The navigation system truly really does Suck. I own 2 garmins with the 2010 map update and they are 100 times better - the older 2008 maps were also much more accurate as was my older Prius system(it had none of the problems I mentioned). 4) The dealer and customer service say it is the most recent release and that updates are released in the fall. It is a major highway and is 4 lanes at least 60% of the way! 3) When I had it "take me home" it wanted me to take a right turn several streets past where I wanted to. I tried to figure this out and I think it believes the road I traveled on was a rural road so it gave it a 35 mile average speed. 2) I drove from Moscow, Idaho to Lewiston, Id today, where I live - Nav system said I had 33 miles (pretty close to correct) and it was going to take 1hr 5min. 1) This new one places my house, by address, in the middle of a field a quarter mile from my house. I traded in a 2006 Prius whose navigation had much better acuity.

2010 toyota prius navigation dvd

I picked up my 2010 Prius today and am Very disappointed in its navigation system.











2010 toyota prius navigation dvd